top of page
  • Sara AM

Bedroom Reveal

Updated: May 26, 2020

From sleeping on the floor to sleeping in a serene, calm retreat - this is how we made-over our master bedroom.


The bedroom is the first to get furnished, am I right? Nah, It took us 2 years to furnish ours! We have 3 kids under 5 and they all wanted to co-sleep so we pushed a king sized mattress and a twin sized mattress together and that was our sleeping arrangement for 2 years. I tell ya I was done with that!




We weren't prepared to spend a lot of money on the bedroom so we hired Megan from Roomlift to help us design the room within our budget.  Megan was amazing! We sent her the room measurement and some photos. After a couple of weeks she sent us a new room layout and furniture suggestions. 



Megan suggested a dark focal wall (JOTUN SLATE GREY) against the bed and L-shaped sofa and suggested a warm greige on the other walls (JOTUN LINEN GREY). I am SO GLAD we did the dark wall. It looks so rich and marvellous! She also suggested this stunning organic macrame hanging from Etsy. It was not cheap at USD 585 but sure worth it as it adds that captivating POP of color to the room. The text art on either side of the bed was purchased from Etsy and framed with IKEA frames. I was hoping my kids would get the message!


Above is a view from the entrance of the room. For the art gallery above the sofa, I purchased art prints from Etsy (Figure drawing, abstract and pattern) for about USD 5 each, printed them in our local print shop and placed them in IKEA frames. It cost me so little but looks high-end. On the other side of the L-shafed sofa, I hung an Anthropologie fringed basket above. I just LOVE it! As well as the green West Elm planter that ties in with the macrame hanging above the bed. They don't make this planter anymore.



Below is the view facing the the window.




I felt like the dark built-in cabinets on either side of the window robbed the show from the dark wall adjacent so I painted them white with Rustoleums Linen White Chalk Paint, and I'm ecstatic I did because they lightened up the space. I did about 4 coats over 2 days with a foam roller and sealed with wax. 


Have you noticed the Ikea dresser hack? It looks a 100 times better. We tapered off the legs and stained them. We also painted the dresser white with Rustoleums Linen White Chalk Paint and switched out the wooden knobs with these IKEA leather handles. The full tutorial can be found here. I styled the dresser with a West Elm mirror and accessories from Zara Home such as the vases, candle holder and plant basket.


In terms of big furniture pieces, We purchased this bed and these marble top nightstands from West Elm on Black Friday which got us a great discount. As well as this cool rug from Overstock. As for the furniture we owned, we had a natural coloured L-shaped sofa which I took from my parents house when they downsized to an apartment and an IKEA Tarva dresser which I purposely bought raw, a couple of years ago, to hack it. I was really inspired by Sarah Sherman Samuels gorgeous hack in her nursery. We also had an uber soft and delicate Hemp rug from West Elm (currently under the bed) and a beautiful silk rug that my husband bought from Nepal on a business trip (which you can see under the dresser).


Have you noticed the cute green planters on the nightstands? I bought them from the local plant shop for USD 1 each. And those adorable little lamps were purchased from Zara Home. Below is a view facing the L-shaped sofa.



Have you noticed how much the new light fixture has transformed the room? Megan suggested this one from Overstock. The pair give off a nice natural organic feeling paired with the jute rugs and linen bed sheets, sofa and curtains. I just LOVE that wool and jute rug and it feels so nice under the feet.


Below are some more photos of the room. Sorry I can't get enough of it. Can you blame me??




921 views2 comments
bottom of page